I want to be a Supa Star

I went to my first Lunches with Leaders  function yesterday.  This is a local event in Albuquerque, New Mexico put on monthly by the Young Professionals of Albuquerque (YPA).  I’m not a member of the YPA but I got an email through my Linked-In subscriptions and decided to check it out.  I attended with a few fellow Junior League ladies.  We were ready to be inspired.

The guest speaker was Sally Adams, a highly successful business woman in our community.  She started out by downplaying her long list of achievements but she shouldn’t have.  She is great.  She has a very long history of giving back to her community and receiving numerous awards & accolades.   One of the first things she told our audience was something to the tune of encouraging us to find a non-profit organization that we liked and to partner with them throughout our careers.  Hopefully that message will stick with most of us.  It always impresses me when people use their “celebrity” (or the influence they have within an industry) to help others in their community.

Sally talked extensively about her life’s journey, which was humorous, scandalous, and entertaining.  She even shed a few heartfelt tears when she spoke about her beloved daughter.  She shared how she made many questionable or “failed” choices in her life.  Though failed choices, she said she never regretted them because they were the choices that made her into the woman that she eventually became: knowledgeable, well-rounded, experienced, down-to-earth, compassionate, and relate-able.  All of those experiences are what made her “real”, not just a list of awards on a piece of paper but something that created what she called the “fabric” of interpersonal relationships with others.

Often times I go to business engagements and I never really get a sense of who someone really is or was along their journey.  We never get to scratch beneath the surface of who these “successful” people really are.  In my personal life, I enjoy people who are introspective and can be honest with others, but more importantly honest with themselves.  I liked that Sally was willing to tell her colorful life story to a room full of strangers and not be fearful of judgment.  It’s refreshing when people “own” who they are and the decisions they made along the way (good or bad).

I think being comfortable in your own skin must just come with age.  I don’t think there is any faster or easier route.  She mentioned that she was 54.  Today, I turned 34, and I have to say that I can’t wait until I feel so comfortable in my own skin too.

Leave a Reply

