Baby Brain, Mommy Brain, now Daddy Brain

Last night was a typical busy Tuesday night in our household.  We had just fed the kids dinner and were loading the dishwasher and cleaning up the kitchen.  The kids were screaming and chasing each other in circles around the kitchen & down the hallway.   It was irresistible chaos as usual.

8pm came too soon (or not soon enough depending on who you ask) so I rounded the kids up for teeth brushing  and story time.  I was reading the bedtime story to them in their room when I saw my husband rush by with a sense of urgency.  I heard him slam the linen closet doors and rush back by with a stack of towels in hand and a panicked look on his face.  This couldn’t be good.

Not able to curb my curiosity (and sudden worry), I scooted the kids off my lap and rushed off in his direction.  When I rounded the corner to the kitchen, all I saw was a sea of white foam across the floor.  My husband was standing in the middle of it, frantically spreading out the stack of towels.

I gasped and covered my mouth in amazement.  Just then, the kids rounded the corner too.  They  were mesmerized by the scene.  “Daddy, what happened” they said.   My husband just looked over in a defeated stance, socks soaked, and exclaimed “ Note to self: never mistake the big Costco jug of dishsoap under the sink for the big Costco jug of dishWASHER soap under the sink.” 

I glanced at the dishwasher and the sudsy stuff was still pouring out from the bottom of it.  The kids and I all broke out in to laughter.  Charlie shook his head, threw his hand up in the air and smiled.    The kids squealed with delight because this looked like ‘loads’ of fun to them (pun intended).

I’m so glad this one was my husbands doing because I had previously worried that parenthood was singling ME out and trying to make ME look like an incompetent MORON.  Who else accidentally leaves their car still running while they shop at Costco for 45 minutes??.  Woooohoooo, not only me apparently.   But I’m sensing a Costco conspiracy. LOL!
Image

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sisterhoodofthesensiblemoms
    Jan 30, 2013 @ 18:28:58

    I once went into Lowe’s and left BOTH sliding doors open on the minivan. Bonus? All the trash got blown out in the crosswind. 🙂 Ellen

    Reply

    • irresistiblechaos
      Jan 30, 2013 @ 23:00:53

      Ellen, that seriously makes me feel so much better. A few months after I left the car running at Costco, I left my drivers door wide open in the parking lot at work. I only realized when I was walking out to my car at 6pm. Trash was still in it, unfortunately. :o)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

